23 weeks

My kid is going to be a fatty. Seriously. When I’m hungry, the kicks are there. And if I haven’t felt the baby move in a while, all I have to do is chow down. Within ten minutes of eating, R goes crazy kicking and punching. I love it! Well, except when I’m kicked in the bladder.

This past week has been a big week for movement. I first felt flutters at 16 weeks and then small movements a few times a week thereafter but the past couple of days have been truly amazing. I’ve finally noticed this pattern of food-related kicking and both my husband and I have felt the pops on our hands. I can’t believe how strong they are – sometimes I burst into laughter because my stomach/groin jerks and it tickles. It is insane how active this child has been. It seems like R has been moving non-stop for three days now. Can any moms out there comment on whether fetal activity has been any indication of how active their child was born after birth? I fear I may have my work cut out for me.

Music seems to make R move, too. The other night I was playing Rockabye Baby : Lullaby Renditions of Jay Z loudly on my laptop (which was resting close to my tummy) and suddenly, during the “Big Poppa” lullaby, R went nuts. I couldn’t believe how many jolts my insides were getting.

This is just too adorable. I've listened to the Kanye West one, too. And if hip hop isn't your thing, they also have The Beatles, Coldplay, The Eagles, and others.

This is just too adorable. I’ve listened to the Kanye West one, too. And if hip hop isn’t your thing, they also have The Beatles, Coldplay, The Eagles, Queen, Madonna, AC/DC…

I had a more productive week than others. I finished the mobile and had a successful maternity clothes shopping trip. Only one of the shirts picture below was bought because I’m not made of that kind of money, ya know?! We’ve also begun looking at curtains for the nursery. I really want panels to hang instead of regular old curtains but we have two windows in the nursery which equals 4 panels which equals lots of money. I’m thinking of picking up some fabric and doing no-sew panels by following this tutorial.

This past week in photos:

My finger were cramped but I finally managed to wrap the hoop with yarn. It's all ready for the twine and to be hung.

My finger were cramped but I finally managed to wrap the hoop with yarn. It’s all ready for the twine and to be hung.

Edwin's aunts Nancy & Dora bought us these off our babiesRus registry. I fell in love with mine as soon as I saw it on the site. I cannot stand those obvious baby bags. And I knew Edwin wouldn't carry it so I added a Diaper Dude messenger bag for him. Thanks Aunt Nancy & Dora!

Edwin’s aunts Nancy & Dora bought us these off our BabiesRus registry! I fell in love with mine as soon as I saw it on the site. I cannot stand those obvious baby bags. And I knew Edwin wouldn’t carry it so I added a Diaper Dude messenger bag for him. Thanks Aunt Nancy & Dora! I can’t wait to fill it with baby items! ūüôā

Did I show you guys the cake that our friend made us for the gender reveal? It was so adorable (and yummy!)

Did I show you guys the cake that our friend made us for the gender reveal? It was so adorable (and yummy!)

A (very) early purchase for R. My due date is February but I couldn't pass up this $4 stocking at Kohl's!

A (very) early purchase for R. My due date is February but I couldn’t pass up this $4 stocking at Kohl’s!

I have lots of photos from this past week to share. I have been feeling a bit happier about the bump despite how large it has become. I really hope I haven’t gained¬†too much weight. I’ve been trying to be careful while eating but sometimes I just feel so large!

Hubby took this the other night before bed. How big is my child?!

Hubby took this the other night before bed. How big is my child?!

One of the shirts I actually bought. I need something cool for work as the building is always burning up!

One of the shirts I actually bought. I need something cool for work as the building is always burning up!

I loved this shirt but it didn't seem that it would work after another month. Even as I stood there, I was afraid my boobs would pop the buttons. I'm definitely showing in the front!

I loved this shirt but it didn’t seem that it would work after another month. Even as I stood there, I was afraid my boobs would pop the buttons. And as you can see, I’m definitely showing in the front!

I wanted this so bad! It was a medium and fit perfectly but like the blue top above, it won't fit for too long and Kohl's was out of the large. I do need a jacket though for the cooler fall days.

I wanted this so bad! It was a medium and fit perfectly but like the blue top above, it won’t fit for too long and Kohl’s was out of the large. I do need a jacket though for the cooler fall days.

Another bare belly shot! How much longer until my feet are hidden by the bump? ;)

Another bare belly shot! How much longer until my feet are hidden by the bump? ūüėČ Also, I’m getting close to becoming an outie lol.

Questions:

How far along: 23 weeks

How big is baby?¬†According to several resources, R is a little over 11 inches long and weighs just over a pound. By next month, R’s weight will double! For an idea of what R looks like inside my womb, visit BabyCenter.

Baby’s milestones:¬†¬†R can hear! This was obvious by the reaction to the music and later Daddy’s loud video game. Heartbeat can now be heard through a stethoscope… I need Daddy to bring his home from work so we can take a listen.

Maternity clothes:¬†I now own 3 pairs of maternity pants, 3 maternity tops, and 2 maternity tanks. Some of last winter’s sweaters were already a bit big so for now I am still wearing them. I’m also utilizing a pre-pregnancy hoodie and my leggings.

Symptoms: The headaches seem to be easing up (knock on wood!). I get maybe 2 a week? No new symptoms this week, just weepiness, fear, and sometimes uncontrollable hunger.

Sleep: Still waking up between 3 & 5 every morning to use the restroom. GRR.

Best moment of this week:¬†Seeing my husband’s reaction as he felt R kick for the first time. It was a sweet moment that I will remember forever.

Food cravings:¬†Arby’s curly fries. This weekend I had a random urge for Olive Garden’s soup, salad, and breadsticks (it was fulfilled). Oh and gnocchi.

Labor signs: Nope.

Belly button in or out: getting closer to out! see above!

Wedding rings on or off: on.

Happy or moody most of the time:¬†It’s been a mix.

Looking forward to:¬†Friday’s 23 weeks/Week 24 OB appointment… I love hearing the heartbeat! I expect that I’ll be getting my glucose test, calcium levels checked, and a flu shot at the appointment after this one. Hopefully they don’t surprise me with it this time.

Leave a Reply

