27 weeks… and an announcement (spoiler alert!)

This post reveals the gender of R so if you don’t want to know, STOP READING. ๐Ÿ™‚ If you’d like to know, click “continue reading”

This is my 28th week of pregnancy which means I have reached my third and final trimester. I have 13 weeks until my little one arrives. ๐Ÿ™‚ Isn’t that crazy?! I feel like I JUST found out I was pregnant.

I’m pretty excited that the time is nearing to welcome R into our loving family but I know the weeks will be long. My energy level is lowering, my weight increasing, and lower back pain and leg cramps are plaguing me. It is almost time to go up a bra size (again), the Braxton Hicks continue and I have to pee every hour it seems (which is funny because the OB’s office gave me a handout with symptoms I should report immediately and frequent OR painful urination was included – really? I understand the painful urination part but FREQUENT urination? ha. ha. ha.)… Oh, and I have I mentioned that I seemed to have popped out? This belly gets bigger by the minute.

This weekend was my baby shower! I drove to Louisville Thursday night/Friday morning where my family and friends live and my husband was working. His family drove 12 hours to spend the weekend and come to the shower! It was such a whirlwind of a weekend, it seemed to disappear before I realize it began.

One of my worries prior to coming home was that those who didn’t want to know R’s sex would find out at the shower but it all worked out because it slipped prior to the shower. ๐Ÿ˜‰ So, to all of my readers, I’m going to announce right here and now that R is a LITTLE BOY!ย This is going to be so much easier from here on out because I can stop avoiding gender-specific pronouns and I can include photos of all the cute things I have received/got for littleย Roman Alexanderย (his nickname will be “The Great.” ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

The shower, hosted by my bestie, was perfect and well attended. The theme, like the nursery, was nautical so we had red, white, and blue everything as well as seashells, fishing net, etc. I gave all of the food nautical names like “Sloppy Sailor Joes,” “Meatballs, Matey,” and “Chocolate Ships Ahoy.” Cheesy, I know. ๐Ÿ™‚ I received a lot of wonderful gifts for Roman and my self like nursery decor, clothing, books, and some essentials. Most of the big items are covered, we are just lacking a changing table and breast pump. The guests played a few games: Don’t Say Baby, Celebrity Baby Match, and the grossest poopy diaper game (melted candy bars in diapers).

The Week In Photos

I’m not including any photos of anyone other than my husband and me in respect for others’ privacy, but here are a few shots from the day (several taken by my friend Leah):

Guests were able to guess which day they think R will be born. The one closest will win a gift card. :)

Guests were able to guess which day they think R will be born. The one closest will win a gift card. ๐Ÿ™‚

I think I'm going to hang this over R's crib.

I think I’m going to hang this over R’s crib.

Leah, who took some of the photos, also made these DELICIOUS cupcakes!

Leah, who took some of the photos, also made these DELICIOUS cupcakes!

Look how perfect these are! I can't wait to hang them in the nursery!

Look how perfect these are! I can’t wait to hang them in the nursery!

Mom and Dad to be. Isn't he so handsome? I'm too lucky.

Mom and Dad to be. Isn’t he so handsome? I’m too lucky.

These first 4 onesies were purchased by me at Target for $4 a piece!

These first 4 onesies were purchased by me at Target for $4 a piece!

His dad really does rock and Roman's initials are RAR so the dino works well. :)

His dad really does rock and Roman’s initials are RAR so the dino works well. ๐Ÿ™‚

His dad is actually really cute - see the photo of us above or his childhood photo below.

His dad is actually really cute – see the photo of us above or his childhood photo below.

Roman's daddy is in a motorcycle club whose colors are red and black so I figured Roman can wear this outfit to club events.

Roman’s daddy is in a motorcycle club whose colors are red and black so I figured Roman can wear this outfit to club events.

Fisher-Price sent us a cute toy!

Fisher-Price sent us a cute toy!

I displayed baby photos of my husband and I. If my son looks anything like him, he's going to be freaking adorable!

I displayed baby photos of my husband and I. If my son looks anything like him, he’s going to be freaking adorable!

My new shirt - Life Is Better With A Bump!

My new shirt – Life Is Better With A Bump!

This is my favorite children's book ever. My mother-in-law purchased it with the idea that Edwin can record his own voice and if he is ever deployed Roman will be able to have his daddy tell him the story.

This is my favorite children’s book ever. My mother-in-law purchased it with the idea that Edwin can record his own voice and if he is ever deployed Roman will be able to have his daddy tell him the story.

These are just a FEW of the outfits Roman got at the shower. I was overwhelmed with how much clothing he got considering we didn't tell everyone the sex.

These are just a FEW of the outfits Roman got at the shower. I was overwhelmed with how much clothing he got considering we didn’t tell everyone the sex.

too cute!

too cute!

 

It has a pocket!

It has a pocket!

IMG_0388

Our friend Leah also took some impromptu maternity photos after the shower. Some were with my friends but here are two with just us. :) <3

Our friend Leah also took some impromptu maternity photos after the shower. Some were with my friends but here are two with just us. ๐Ÿ™‚ โค

11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

