29 Weeks

I'm recycling a dress from last winter. It works.

I’m recycling a dress from last winter. It works.

I conquered last week. By Monday morning I had the entire house cleaned and ready for the home inspection that came as part of our lease renewal. I haven’t heard from our landlord about it so I assume all is well. Tuesday was a busy day that involved a teeth cleaning, an appointment with an exterminator to figure out our wasp problem, and my first prenatal class.

I recently discovered through the benefits office at work that I could take prepared parenting courses for free so on Tuesday night I spent 3 and 1/2 hours at one of our libraries for Infant Care. I wasn’t excited to go at first because I have an extensive background in childcare and my husband would still be out of town and unable to attend. I figured I wouldn’t learn much and I’d be the only mom-to-be without a partner. I was definitely wrong on both accounts.

There were four moms in total that attended and only one brought the dad. We introduced ourselves and mentioned relevant details about our pregnancies. The other ladies were due either a month before me or a month behind me. They were all having girls. When I announced that my son’s name would be Roman Alexander, everyone seemed to really like the name. 🙂 They didn’t have names picked out for their daughters, or maybe one did but I can’t remember it.

I discovered that there were plenty of things that I wasn’t completely an expert on. First, we’ve decided on circumcision but I wasn’t really sure on how to assure that it heals properly and how I should factor that into bathing, and the same with the umbilical cord. Second, I didn’t know that babies didn’t need baby oil and baby powder. I have so many photographs of me as baby being basted like a turkey with the baby powder next to me waiting to be sifted over my body. The most vital part of that whole class for me, though, was choosing a pediatrician. I didn’t realize there was so much that goes into this process. I’ve begun looking at practices that our insurance covers but we have yet to narrow it down. It’s such a daunting responsibility.

I did some more shopping this week, received a lovely gift in the mail from friends, and was given more freebies from appointments. There really isn’t too many more necessary items to get for Roman other than more diapers, receiving blankets, and the changing table. I did start looking at winter wear for him since he will be born sometime before the end of February and Virginia is already getting cold. Any recommendations on baby winter suits/coats?

a gift from lovely friends.

a gift from lovely friends.

These were $1.50 a piece at Target! It doesn't get any better than that - AND check the pocket protector one! He isn't even born yet and I am making him my little nerd.

These were $1.50 a piece at Target! It doesn’t get any better than that – AND check the pocket protector one! He isn’t even born yet and I am making him my little nerd.

Simple, but cute. :)

Simple, but cute. 🙂

sizes 3 & 6 months. :)

sizes 3 & 6 months. 🙂

His collection of bibs is slowly coming together - I just can't make myself buy any more of these just yet.

His collection of bibs is slowly coming together – I just can’t make myself buy any more of these just yet. These were gifts.

He didn't receive many burp cloths at the shower so I picked RAR up some dino ones (see what I did there, haha) with matching mittens.

He didn’t receive many burp cloths at the shower so I picked RAR up some dino ones (see what I did there, haha) with matching mittens.

Also not purchasing many more bottles, as I plan to breastfeed and I'm not sure which he will prefer once I start introducing bottles. I have had several recommendations on Playtex (both nursers and ventairs), so we will see.

Also not purchasing many more bottles, as I plan to breastfeed and I’m not sure which he will prefer once I start introducing bottles. I have had several recommendations on Playtex (both nursers and ventairs), so we will see. Above are Nuby, Playtex, Green Sprouts, and Avent bottles.

Formula (just in case) and vitamin D drops - freebie from the class

Formula (just in case) and vitamin D drops – freebie from the class. I have four more bottles and container of powdered formula in the pantry.

milk storage - both from the class.

milk storage – both from the class.

So I think I have finally discovered my pregnancy craving, meaning the one thing I haven’t turned down throughout my pregnancy and have found myself driving to 7-eleven for at 6 am: slurpees/icees/slushees.

I had 3 last week. What is wrong with me?

I had 3 last week. What is wrong with me?

Whatever you call them, I LOVE them. I seriously cannot get enough. I realized that it might be a problem craving when I added a 10% off Icee coupon to my Cartwheel app. Really?  Who does that? Only crazy pregnant ladies who crave cold, sweet slush drinks as winter nears.

My dear dear husband came home on Friday night!

He's such a handsome man. <3

He’s such a handsome man. ❤

I could not be happier knowing that he will be home with me until late March or early April. He won’t miss Roman’s birth and he will be in attendance at the rest of my classes (breastfeeding and prepared childbirth). A lot of my stress and worry came from him being gone and something happening here but now that he’s home I feel a lot lighter (figuratively speaking, not literally – I feel like I am slowly becoming the size of a house). And another perk of him being home? I get to see the finished product in person all the time:

Sunday was the hospital tour of the Birth Place at our hospital. I am glad that we went but before I get into that, let me just say that it was an awkward experience. There were two other couples that attended. Our nurse was a little off. She didn’t know left from right and she had a hard time counting. She made a lot of jokes that weren’t funny so I felt like I had to smile and laugh some just to make her comfortable. The other fathers were also… weird. One dad asked what happens if a baby doesn’t pee with in 24 hours of being born. The nurse explained that babies are urinating in utero and it’s very unlikely that they won’t go within their first 24 hours. In fact she’s never experienced that but she did say that if the pediatrician is concerned, they order an ultrasound. Another dad was being really aggressive with his questions. In response to the nurse explaining that nursery nurses appear to be more aggressive with babies in order to stimulate them, he said, “When you say aggressive, do you mean with the babies or clientele because they better not be aggressive with me.” And later he was like “Do I have to have a car seat to take my baby out of the hospital? Do I physically have to bring it up here to take my child?” Edwin and I were joking afterward that he made himself seem suspicious. Aside from all that, I learned the procedures and that Roman can be with me in the room as much as I want him, which is good. I’m not really wanting to be apart from him much at all.

Survey

am going to try to continue doing these Q&As but no promises (sometimes it’s so repetitive):

My age: 26

How far along: 29 weeks

How big is baby: The size of a butternut squash, or at least 2.5 pounds (some sources say 3+ pounds) / 15 inches! He’s a big boy! Sometimes I feel like he might be bigger based on the size of my stomach. Who knows?! Holy crap, look how big he is in the womb.

What have you been up to: Other than what is listed above, just getting through these 40 hour works weeks!

Exercise/Activity Level: Still exhausted. I wake up pretty refreshed but by the time I leave work (5pm or 7pm depending on the day), I am beat. Even when I get desk time at work, I am constantly moving/up out of my chair. My job really does keep me active.

Maternity clothes:  I’m trying not to buy anymore. With 11 weeks to go, though, I might have to get a few more tops. I’ve pretty much switched to leggings and wear them as much as I can because my jeans, while they fit, making breathing more difficult than it already is.

Stretch marks: Still no new ones. I can see the old faded ones on my tummy but that’s it.

Belly Button: Still in but when I cough it pops out. Really gross, lol!

Sleep: I am still falling asleep between 8:30 and 9:00 and waking up for the day by 6:30/7:00 in the morning. Cramps and bathroom breaks are still occurring.

Newest baby milestones this week: He’s gaining weight from here on out (about 1/2 pound a week for the next seven weeks). He can also regulate his own body temperature!

Best Moment of the Week:  Edwin coming home for sure. 🙂

Worst Moment of the Week: At work earlier this week I was having difficulty breathing again. I figured it might be congestion so I took my inhaler. After about 30 minutes I realized that it wasn’t congestion and it was this guy pushing up against my lungs/diaphragm. For the next 4-5 hours I sat at work short of breath and shaking from the jitters caused by the inhaler.

Food cravings: Slurpees and a baked potato.

Food aversions: I haven’t had too much of an appetite this week.

Symptoms: The leg cramps are coming 2-3 times a night. Braxton Hicks – I almost called my OB last week because I got so many one day. It was incredibly uncomfortable but not painful. It didn’t matter if I moved around, laid down, chugged water, took a warm bath, etc. they just kept coming. But since then, I have had very few. Increased thirst and dry skin have begun appearing.

Movement: All day, every day. As I type, he’s kicking high up under my ribs – sometimes I can “grab” his little feet (not really but I can tell trace the shape and feel it with my hands). The kicks aren’t as violent as before. While he still has powerful kicks, they’re less frequent. Instead, Roman has started wiggling and shifting. I’ve finally figured out what his hiccups feel like, too.

Gender: Boy

What I’m looking forward to:  THANKSGIVING! Need I say more?

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Worries for my little boys health have started to appear. I don’t think there is anything wrong with him, but I really pray that he is a good birth weight and there aren’t any complications. I just want a healthy guy. I also hope that I can deliver naturally (by naturally I mean no c-section… of course I want an epidural).

What I miss: Still Jimmy Johns… or just any deli sandwich. I’d love to be able to walk in to Subway and not have to get a toasted sub. I did find out today that JJ delivers to the mommy and me floor at the hospital. 🙂

Next appointment: December 3rd, along with a dermatology appointment and then on the following day a trip to the dentist to fill the first of many cavities. EEK!

2 thoughts on “29 Weeks

  1. Great update! I just had five cavities filled in the last two weeks and it was no fun. And you aren’t the only one craving slushees–I made a special trip to Target last week specifically to buy one (and then walked out with a cart full of stuff. Ah, Target). 🙂

Leave a Reply

