… thirty weeks.

Is this real life? Do I really only have 10 weeks left? I say it every week but wow… where did the time go? I’m almost done. Next week marks single digit weeks. Everyone keeps saying that the third trimester is slow but I’m 3 weeks in already and it’s flying by. Edwin and I have so much to do that I am often left wondering if it will ever get done.

Nothing too exciting happened this week. I put the stroller/carseat together, and I started putting together the hospital bag for Roman. Expect a later post on that. I did have a movement milestone: waking me up. Roman had been interrupting my sleep for weeks but only because of the pressure on my bladder. Friday morning he woke me up with his stretches (at least that’s what I think he was doing). I was on my left side as usual and had my arm resting on my belly when his arms and feet strongly tickled and stretched across my stomach in two places at once. My eyes shot open. I’ve felt this during the day but never has it been strong enough to wake me up when I’ve been asleep. I have no idea what my child was doing me he continued for another 20 minutes. This particular movement tickles like crazy so if he’s anything like his father, he probably got a kick out of me shuttering/reacting to it.

Thursday was Thanksgiving, of course. We had a delicious meal with friends’ since we are military and stationed far from our families. I was completely stuffed by the time I left. Let’s see how that affects my weight at the next appointment. 😉 After dinner we braved the crowds and did a little Black Friday Thursday shopping. We don’t expect to be making too many large purchases for ourselves in the future so we picked up a new TV and an artificial Christmas tree, both of good quality and great prices that should last us several years. I also managed to get a few items for Roman but they were not really on sale.

The weekend was rather rough. We had a tragic event occur at work on Saturday that left me on edge throughout the day. All I could think about was the health and safety of my loved ones. I was so overwhelmed and distracted at work that when I got home I realized I hadn’t noticed Roman move much that day. That combined with my irritability and shock from the day’s earlier events left me a wreck. I drank water and juice, took a warm bath and then positioned myself on my left side on the couch and then the bed but I still couldn’t feel him. Or could I? Was that my pulse or him? Of course I started panicking. After about 20 min, I switched my plan up and grabbed my iPad. I played Kanye West which then started a series of movements, Thank the Lord. Phew. A walk through Walmart and Target later also got him moving.

No baby bump picture, yet – I haven’t felt like having my picture taken lately but I’ll try to get one up this week.

IMG_0729

He won’t see it this year but I want Roman to experience the magical feelings Christmas brought for me as a child. One thing I wanted to do before he was born was to make sure I had a gorgeous tree so that next year we won’t have to worry about getting one or the ornaments and such.

Sophie la Giraffe. I love this thing already!

Sophie la Giraffe. I love this thing already!

My husband HATES the jacket but I love it. It was $8 on clearance and Roman will be here during the winter. It's a necessity. The outfit, however, Edwin loves. Probably because he's recently discovered how much he loves thermals and sweats.

My husband HATES the jacket but I love it. It was $8 on clearance and Roman will be here during the winter. It’s a necessity. The outfit, however, Edwin loves. Probably because he’s recently discovered how much he loves thermals and sweats.

My age: 26

How far along: 30 weeks

How big is baby: 3+ pounds, 18 inches long!

What have you been up to: Prepping for Christmas and Roman’s arrival.

Exercise/Activity Level: Extremely low. Like don’t want to move low.

Stretch marks: Nope, just some small spider veins on my side

Belly Button: Still in!

Sleep: Can’t get enough!

Newest baby milestones this week: Waking me up with his movement. All 5 of his senses are working, too.

Best Moment of the Week: Decorating the Christmas tree!

Worst Moment of the Week: Definitely the event Saturday morning at work.

Food cravings: Sonic Slushes

Food aversions: none

Symptoms: General discomfort/itchy skin/nausea

Movement: oh yes, minus Saturday night.

Gender: Boy

What I’m looking forward to:  some rest this week!

What I’m nervous about/praying for: This week the changes that are going to happen in our lives have begun to worry me but I know it will all be okay.

What I miss: Sleeping in.

Next appointment: Tuesday (tomorrow)

Leave a Reply

