33 weeks

If you missed my mid-week post regarding my 32-week check up, click here (link opens in a new tab/window). 

IMG_0995

Why not start off with some bump shots? We had our holiday potluck at lunch on Thursday. The day before some of my coworkers and I had decided that we would be tacky and festive. So Wednesday night, before making my Andes Mint brownies, I whipped up this shirt that I saw on Pinterest.

IMG_1039

IMG_1063

Oh, the husband takes great candid shots, right? 😉

IMG_1028

My husband surprised me with some Nike 5.0 running shoes that I had been wanting, so naturally I have been showing them off in various pictures. I’ve never been big on sneakers because they typically look bulky but lately I am growing tired of wearing flats and boots – I want shoes that are comfortable and good for my legs and back. When I saw these at Foot Locker a few weeks ago, I knew I had to have them. Look at them, the soles aren’t chunky like most sneakers. I might replace the laces with black ones though so I can wear them with more things.

IMG_1019

I gave this order to my husband when he stopped by work on Friday. I laughed when I put tomatoes in parentheses because I wasn’t sure if he, not a fan of tomatoes, knew what pico de gallo was. 🙂

IMG_1048

So I thought root beer and slurpees were my cravings… well, I guess they were… but the order on the napkin above has been placed at Chipotle and Qdoba about 5-6 times in the past month and honestly, right now I am thinking about having it again. Chipotle has become a post-OB ritual, as there is one 2 minutes from the office and my appointments conveniently end around lunchtime. 🙂 And that second photo? The reason I go to CiCi’s Pizza. Olé pizza! I need spicy Mexican food in my life always!

We finally had our carpets cleaned after the most annoying ordeal with the cleaners. Our appointment was scheduled for Monday at 3 pm. On Saturday evening we received an e-mail stating that they had to change the time to 1 pm. It was a little annoying but my husband planned to be there regardless. Monday morning came and I was battling a sinus infection/head cold of sorts, so I stayed home. Around 11, I ventured out to grab some lunch and when I arrived home around 12:30, there was a business card with the time of 11:45 written on it and a note saying they had stopped by but couldn’t confirm out appointment and finally, to call on Tuesday as the office was closed on Monday. GRRRRRR. I was so heated. My husband called on Tuesday and had the appointment rescheduled for Friday. They apologized and gave us a free sanitation on all of our carpet. Now Roman has a clean, sanitized nursery:

IMG_1008

IMG_1041

IMG_1042

Ignore the patches on the wall. We will not be renewing our lease when it is up so we don’t see the point in spending the time or energy to paint.

We picked up the white book case and fabric drawers at Target. Right now, until we get a dresser, they are housing all of the pants, plain onesies, towels, washcloths, socks, mittens, and caps that we have acquired for roman over the past few months. We’ve decided to get him a dresser to house his clothes and diapers (I have to get them out of his crib and refuse to allow them to be piled under the crib) but we are on the fence when it comes to a changing pad for the top of it. The reason being is that his pack-n-play has a changer on it and I can always use the floor. I might purchase one when he gets a little older but I don’t see myself using it the first few weeks/months. On a side note, guess what still isn’t finished? You guessed it, the curtains!

IMG_1044

I’ve started putting together Roman’s diaper bag for the hospital but I am sure it will change a few times before then.

$2.68 for these three size 12 mo. onesies at Target!

$2.68 for these three size 12 mo. onesies at Target!

The red sweats on the left were $2.50 and the two on the right were about $5!

The red sweats on the left were $2.50 and the two on the right were about $5!

So I know Target’s been getting some serious flack for the credit card hackings but I’m still shopping there. I spent less than $10 on the three pairs of pants and 3 onesies thanks to clearance and a 10% discount! I don’t think I have spent more than $5-10 on a single article of clothing for this boy. I wish I could say the same for myself!

Survey

My age: 26

How far along: 33 weeks

How big is baby: 4-5 pounds by the end of the week & about 19-20 inches!

What have you been up to: nursing myself back to health – I’ve had head colds, coughs, earaches… I’m also mentally prepping for Christmas dinner (our beloved Ruby Tuesday has decided to close this year so I guess we have to make something at home) and the NYE party we are throwing.

Exercise/Activity Level: a little higher than last week.

Stretch marks: Nope.

Belly Button: It’s popping out a bit more.

Sleep: Edwin asked me today, “How many times did you wake up to pee? 3? 4?”

Newest baby milestones this week: Roman’s finger nails have reached the tips of his fingers, just in time to scratch up his cute little face 😉

Best Moment of the Week: The weekend! Oh my, it was lovely. 75 degrees on the first day of winter and 78 and breezy on Sunday. We sat in the house with the doors open letting the house air out and the breeze come in. It was perfect.

Worst Moment of the Week: Some of you are probably heard this, and it’s completely unrelated to my pregnancy, but Thursday was probably the worst day I have had at work. I work in a library where we have a self-check out system. When any of us are assigned to watch the self check out station, our basic responsibility is to watch the monitors for any errors that might occur when customers check out, such as an item failing to check out (which often happens when customers stack 15 items on the check out pad). I typically chat with my coworkers in between customers and then divert my attention the check out station when people come up. On Thursday morning, an elderly white man came to check out two DVDs and renew two others. He has a habit of talking a lot and I didn’t want to get wrapped in his conversation so when I saw that his check out was complete and I had found an exit from the conversation, I took it and ventured back over to one of my managers. Meanwhile one of our regulars, a black woman, had been in the DVD section browsing and was unaware of my interaction with this gentleman. When she came to check out, I stopped talking to my manager and walked back over to my spot in case she had a question or an issue. She chuckled as she finished and left. I thought that her laugh was directed at my Christmas tree shirt from above but when I was walking back from the copier about 3 minutes later, she had returned to confront me. I thought something might have happened after she left and needed to tell someone so I listened eagerly. Instead, I was accused of racism. I was completely thrown off guard. She said, “I saw that you weren’t watching that elderly white man checkout his items but as soon as I came up, you stopped talking to her and turned to watch me.” I replied, “I did watch him.” She interrupted me and said, “No, you didn’t.” There was no point in arguing so I let her continue. “I just think it’s ridiculous that you watched me to make sure I am not stealing because I am black.” I was floored. I totally understand where this comes from but it is sad that we live in such a society that when a person is accused of racism because of her skin color. This woman didn’t understand the situation. She hadn’t been paying attention to what I was doing before she stepped up to the self check-out. She didn’t know that I had already “watched”  that man (or his transaction, rather, as I don’t make a habit of watching customers and what they do) and had a conversation with him. She didn’t know that he continued to stand at the self check-out not to check out items but to have a conversation with a different employee. She doesn’t know anything about who I am, who my family is, or what I believe or feel. Instead, she assumed that because I am white and gave her my attention during her transaction, that I am racist. My face was flushed with anger and embarrassment. I apologized to her not because I had done anything wrong, but because I am professional and I am truly sorry that she had those thoughts and feelings. I felt a tad better later when my other coworkers informed me that this isn’t the first time she’s done this, but I was still hurt. I didn’t worry about others perceiving me as racist because those that I work with and those that I love know who I am. I was upset because I couldn’t defend myself. There was nothing I could say that would make this woman see me any differently. Some coworkers and family said, “you should have shown her a picture of your husband or asked if she’d met him” but that wouldn’t solve anything and it doesn’t prove anything. I won’t use my husband as a tool to show this lady that she was wrong.

Food cravings: haha… see above.

Food aversions: none

Symptoms: I had some heartburn earlier in the week and the Braxton Hicks have been back. I’m starting to have pressure and fullness in my stomach and bladder. My leg cramps were so terrible at the start of the week that I was limping in pain for two days.

Movement: He’s figured out how to lodge his feet in my ribs. I’m thrilled. Not.

Gender: Boy

What I’m looking forward to:  I have Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday off!

What I’m nervous about/praying for: Finding a pediatrician for Roman. I’m a bit behind and plan to make a list this week and make calls on Friday.

Next appointment: New Year’s Eve at 12. It’s going to suck because 1) it’s at 12 and was the only appointment they had available. I’ll be starving and waiting forever and 2) I am asking for my Tdap shot. 😦

Leave a Reply

