39 weeks

I cannot believe that I am roughly one week from my EDD. Absolutely insane that I have been writing this blog for about 20 weeks.

Here are the pictures I promised you in the last entry (regarding my 38 week check up) – read about it here.

20140205-224705.jpg

See those two little spots above his head? Those are his fingers. He had his hands on the top of his head. 🙂

20140205-224736.jpg

Cute little lips & nose.

20140205-224817.jpg

20140205-224838.jpg

20140205-224915.jpg

20140205-224936.jpg

the bump from the top – a little crooked. Where are my feet?!

20140205-224959.jpg

39 weeks, 2 days or 38 weeks, 6 days… depending on who’s counting – me or the doc. 😉

20140205-225023.jpg

A couple, who are friends of ours, gave us this changing table! It works perfectly.

20140205-225049.jpg

The panorama of the nursery – just need to hang the curtains (I have two more to make) and those photos sitting on the window sill.

20140205-225200.jpg

temporary swelling in my ankles and feet – hello sausage toes!

20140205-225220.jpg

Edwin & I had a final outing and I picked these up for Roman.

20140205-225234.jpg

less than $3 at Target! How could I not buy it? 😉

So I have news! I had my 39 week check up on Wednesday. I went in hoping for more progress but was disappointed to find out none had been made. I am still 1 cm. I was almost in tears as I dressed after the exam and I was sure that when I asked how long I’d have to stay pregnant past my due date, she’d tell me 2 weeks. Fortunately I was wrong here, too! In fact, I didn’t even have to ask her about induction. When I entered her office, she began telling me that my due date is next week and if I don’t have Roman by then, I can pick a date – any date after February 13th. I sighed with relief. I explained to her that this is exactly what I wanted to discuss, as I have family visiting on the 15th and I am trying to figure out my maternity leave. I told her I didn’t want the 14th because it’s Valentine’s Day. She said that her anniversary is the 12th and she will be gone on the 14th anyway so we picked Monday February 17th.

I was immediately relieved. You have no idea. The past week has been anxiety ridden because I just don’t know when anything is going to happen. I am a planner who needs to knowI can’t help it, it is who I am. I can do change – it doesn’t take me long to adapt – but I like to have deadlines. I now know that if my son decides to be stubborn, I will have him by a certain day. I have had a weight on my shoulders that I didn’t know was there. I feel like I can just breathe and enjoy these last few days (YES DAYS! 11 DAYS) of pregnancy. Instead of crying “how much longer” I can cry with anticipation of meeting him. I know my husband could see a difference in me from the moment he saw me after work. Of course, I would much rather go into labor on my own and it’s possible that it will still happen, so I am prepared in the event that it does.

I’m curious if the last few OB appointments are always as fast as this one. When I arrived, the waiting room was swamped – busier than I had ever seen it – and I waited at least 40-50 minutes before I was called back to see the nurse. Once, I saw the nurse, however, I headed to the lab and then was immediately whisked to an exam room to see my OB. The appointment, which was scheduled for 10:20, was over by 11:45. And then, when my doctor took me to the induction scheduler, she also had her schedule my last OB visit for next Tuesday and insisted she find me a spot despite being booked solid. Maybe I just got lucky?

In regards to the vitals and such, I had actually lost a few pounds (the # is debatable as the nurse didn’t let the thingy balance – but it was clear that I had lost weight) so the difference between my pre pregnancy weight and current weight is about 15-16 pounds. Considering Roman is about 8 of those and then you have to count fluids and placenta, I’m feeling freaking great. I don’t even care that I lost 10 pounds after getting pregnant, so in reality I gained about 25-26 pounds, because that’s still excellent! My blood pressure was still excellent and Roman’s heart rate was 146. How did I celebrate? Chipotle, of course. 🙂

Now that I have an induction date, people have started to ask me if I am scared. The first emotion I have is relief. The second, excitement. Third, some fear, yes. I don’t know if I have fully prepared myself mentally for labor. I can’t change the fact that it has to happen so I’m trying not to focus on how scared I am. I’m stronger than I give myself credit for. I’ve worked throughout my pregnancy and will continue to until next Friday or I go into labor, whichever is first. Millions of women have gone through labor over the course of history and been fine. I will be, too. I’m not going to stress over the labor. I will have my husband with me and likely members of our family. I have the support of friends and family near and far. I will be okay. 🙂

Survey:

How Far Along? 39 weeks!

Roman’s weight: at last week’s ultrasound he was estimated at 7 lbs 7 oz.

Symptoms: carpal tunnel syndrome, leg cramps, anxiety, heightened emotions

Sleep: constantly interrupted but I do fall asleep on the couch every night before heading up to bed.

Food Cravings: an oreo blast from Sonic. 🙂

Best Moment This Week: getting an induction date!

Worst Moment This Week: there really wasn’t one.

Movement: Still! Isn’t he supposed to slow down?

Labor Signs: nothing new.

Belly Button In Or Out? out

What I Miss: non tingly hands in the morning.

What I Am Looking Forward To: family coming in and meeting my son!!

Leave a Reply

