Update

A lot has happened in the past 5 weeks.

1st, I was diagnosed with postpartum depression. I thought I had the baby blues but they weren’t getting lighter. Instead, my feelings were heavier. I cried in the shower, walking through Target, visiting my OB… I was crying all the time. Sometimes I could explain – like the sadness with being unable to deliver vaginally and my decision to not breastfeed. Other times I couldn’t figure it out. I had everything I had ever wanted but I wasn’t happy. Anyway, I saw a therapist and then a PCM put me on Celexa. I see an actual psych next week. The celexa has worked wonders – I have few low moments and I can enjoy parenting now- but I want to visit with the doctor to talk about the outlook. Is this what I need to stay on? Will this dosage work? When can I discontinue the meds?

Roman has had a tough time, too. On day 4, he had the frenulectomy and now he can actually stick his tongue out of his mouth.

He has been fussy since week 2, which I’ve read is on par for his age, but then he developed thrush at week 3. His doc said it can make him fussy and gave is nystatin. Tomorrow is the end of his medicine but he still seems to have it so if it isn’t better in a few days I’m going to call back.

And then a few days after beginning the medicine, I found blood in his stool. At first it was a speck of bloody mucous with diarrhea. I thought he might have caught the stomach bug his father and I had a few days prior but then it continued for 2 days and more blood was produced with each BM (they were coming once an hour). I took him to the doctor twice. On the first visit she said it could be the stomach bug or an allergy to milk protein. She gave me Nutramigen (for those who don’t know, it’s an expensive hypoallergenic formula where the milk protein is broken down so that baby’s tummy doesn’t have to work so hard. It also smells and tastes TERRIBLE.) Roman had the hardest time getting used to it. He cried and fussed and refused it.

I didn’t think it was a protein allergy and when he produced a BM that was 75% blood, I took him back to the doctor. This doctor thought he might have meckels diverticulum, where the stomach lining exists inside the intestines and produces painless bleeding, and sent him for a meckels scan. Roman had to be put under and a gamma camera photographed his intestines. The procedure to correct it required surgery so I was thankful when his test came back negative.

After more research and two full days on Nutramigen with 0 bloody BMs (all of which were normal & solid), I determined it must be the milk protein allergy after all. Looking back, Roman met all the criteria for it: extra fussy, esp after eating, frequent loose BMs, bloody stools… He had it all. And after two days on the new formula, he seemed like a changed baby. Now he is only fussy when hungry or really sleepy. It’s just funny that this allergy is only in 2-3% of babies and mine falls in there.

It stinks that he’s on this expensive formula but I have a healthy baby and that’s all that matters. Most children outgrow the allergy by 1 year of age, thankfully. And on the bright side, it’s only 1 year of formula, so the cost is only temporary.

The last weigh in had Roman at 9 lbs 10 oz that was a week ago, so I’m thinking that he’s probably at 10 lbs now. His length and weight were in the 50th percentile and his head was in the 25th percentile.

He’s a cuddly baby who struggles to fall asleep on his back. He definitely prefers our arms or chest but his swing is growing on him. He sleeps (this week anyway) in 3-4 hour intervals at night and 1-2 hour intervals during the day. In the morning and evenings, he takes 3-4 oz of formula and during the day it can range from 1-2 oz. He eats every 2-3 hours, sometimes every 4 hours if he’s sleeping well. 🙂

Overall, he prefers being held, which can be taxing. I’m trying to transition him into sitting his chair or swing longer or even laying on his play mat.

I return to work next week and he starts daycare so hopefully that will help with his independence. I’ll be sad though. 😦

20140318-124718.jpg

Leave a Reply

